April 28, 2007

Camrose Wins Doyle Cup

Congratulations to the Camrose Kodiaks for winning the 2007 Doyle Cup. The Kodiaks scored two power play goals in the third period to erase Nanaimo's 2-1 lead and win their 4th Doyle Cup in the past 6 years. Joe Colborne scored the game-winner for the Kodiaks.

Mike Devin scored on a power play in the second period to give the Clippers a 2-1 lead and Michael Garman stopped 31 shots to lead Nanaimo. Joe Devin did not play.

Michael Garman had a strong series for the Clippers, playing his best hockey against the second-ranked team in Canada. Michael gave up 2.02 goals per contest and stopped 93.43% of the Kodiaks' shots. A special nod to Michael and the Clipper defensive corp.

Congratulations to the Clippers for a terrific season. Nanaimo had an impressive playoff run as they played 29 games in 48 days -- that's almost an entire college season in 7 weeks. Nanaimo last won the Doyle Cup in 2004.

No comments: